Green Grass

5/11/15

I like the fact that even though there are many days of routine here, I also get to experience new things from time to time. Routine can sometimes be categorized as “I can feel the hair on my head growing, I’m that bored!” Routine can also be a comfort at times. It is however, very refreshing to discover that it isn’t always just sand and malls here. For example, my husband and I went up to a compound this past weekend. It was a whole new world. A HUGE city of expats, living in this area with western looking houses, little yards, a movie theater, parks, a golf course with the greenest grass I have seen in a long time.

CAM00362

And we had Mexican food. It was American/Mexican. But I was happy with it! We hung out at his friend’s place there in the afternoon and just sort of rested from our drive. We watched “North by Northwest”. I hadn’t seen that movie since I was a kid. It was the first time my husband had ever seen it. Watched a couple other classic movies and then in the evening we went to a dinner and dance party event. Country themed, with the table napkins folded like boots.

CAM00366

There was a group of people there doing dance performances, as well as a few dance lessons for the guests. Line dancing and two step, with lots of people participating. It was a really fun environment! It also made me realize that I could totally live on a compound if we had the opportunity.

Everyone was super nice and while we had to cut the evening short, we had a great time. We had a good weekend all together. Did some new things, had a little relaxation, and enjoyed some great food.

These things keep me going, along with my ever loving husband -wifeabroad

4 thoughts on “Green Grass

  1. Barbie Oliver says:

    Hi. Stumbled across your blog. I am moving there in October as my husband is getting transferred there. I enjoyed reading about your life there, since it will soon be mine.

    Like

      • Who knows… Sometimes I don’t think I will last another year, and then I have days when I wake up and think, “It’s fine, I can do this.” There are some recent things that have my husband and I thinking about it a bit more.
        Where in Saudi will you end up living, if you don’t mind my asking?

        Like

Leave a Reply

