Doing some thinking

4/27/15

My husband and I plan to head back to the States this summer for our vacation. Our families are all there, so we will be doing a lot of visiting, and sharing in moments that are missed so much with us being overseas. I’m really looking forward to it because I need the big break from the desert, and the summer weather in the States is usually wonderful. I’m also looking forward to time away from my husband. Don’t get the wrong idea with that…It’s just that since I got here, we spend EVERY day together. It’s not a bad thing, I just feel like a little time apart will do us good. He can do his thing, and I can do mine. I’m looking forward to taking walks when I want, getting my freedoms back. Going and doing things without covering up in my abaya.

In the next week or so I need to make a decision regarding the trip. Do we get flights together, there and back, or do I stay in the States a bit longer and join back up with him at a later date. He feels this is an easy decision. It’s pretty much together or not, to him. Easy peasy. For me it’s a huge decision! One, I don’t like to be apart from him for long periods of time. I already did all that before and after we got married. We don’t have a home in the States, so it would mean that I would have to crash on a relatives couch. At this point I also don’t want to even think of doing that flight alone again. On the other hand, if I were to stay in the States longer, I get more time with family and friends. I would be avoiding some of the summer heat here. And maybe once again, the time apart would be good for us. I don’t know what to do.

Just thinking… -wifeabroad

One thought on “Doing some thinking

  1. jacqueline says:

    Really I was thinking about the same thing, it’s harder for us woman here, not having the freedom to do what you want when you want, but also do not have a house at home anymore and will need to stay with my parents. Like you say the flight back alone will be a bummer and that long que at the airport I don’t see myself doing that alone. Will also miss my husband to much, then again there is not much to do in this heat but sit in the flat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

